Thrifting for Treasure: It’s getting colder outside edition

Fall is finally here. It rained all day yesterday, when it didn’t rain, it drizzled, when it didn’t drizzle, the sky was gray and it was windy. Good thing I stocked up on sweaters and outerwear! You know how some animals start eating before the winter, to gain some fat? Well I am like that with clothes – warm clothes. Since I am not planning on fattying myself up, but rather staying the 117 lb that I am, I choose fashion to satisfy my need for warmth, that and my husband! He is a great heater ;)

I wanted to share some of my finds with you and how to style them. (Since I only do laundry over the weekend, it’s going to be a while until I actually post pictures of myself wearing these items, so just be patient with me :) )

We are going to start with the sweaters. Both are Macy’s brands, and one of them came with tags attached! I love finding brand new things at the Salvation Army.

1. Norwegian pattern sweater

I bet most of you thought I was talking about a sweater with reindeer on it! No, I am far from wearing Rudolph on my sweater. I was never into the whole trend of Mickey Mouse and other Disney characters on my clothes! Anyways, here are the two ways how you can style a sweater like this:

a) with skinny Jeans

b) with a skirt and a pair of boots

I know that in this picture the sweater is pretty cut off, but you get the idea! Plus I have that exact same skirt, that I can’t wait to wear with my new sweater! By the way it’s Evan-Picone, a Macy’s brand, and it only cost me $3.99 ;)

2. Tribal print Sweater

It’s a fitted sweater by Charter Club. With tags still attached, and a little sample of gray string to mend it if necessary! This was a $3.99 purchase, but it was also a white tag, which meant it was 50% off, Boo-Yah!

How to wear something tribal:

a) With skinny jeans and a solid color scarf

You don’t want to overkill the look with some striped or other patterned scarf, so going for a solid color is your best bet!

b) As a mini dress

These ones are available at Bloomingdales, but the sweater that I bought can also be worn as a mini dress. Though I will have to lose another 5-7 lb before I can come out in public like that.

c) with leggings or jeggings

I am really digging this whole nerdy look, with the hair pulled into a bun like that and some geeky glasses! If you find a norwegian pattern sweater that’s long enough, you could pull this look off as well.

3. Gray maxi skirt

This was the cheapest item in my cart before all the discounts – only $2.99. Plus it’s Green Cotton, made in Denmark! How cool is that!?!

So here are some ideas on how to style this amazing find:

a) wear it with a bright top, because almost all colors go well with gray!

b) go all gray

Don’t forget to choose accessories that will stand out!

c) Layer it up with white

d) Style Copycats

Hillary Duff or Ashley Olsen? You choose!

I hope you guys enjoyed my thrift finds! Let me know what you all think!

Xo,

ZhenyAH!

PS. The total price of everything was $11, but I paid only $7.22, thanks to the half price tags and the 25% off coupon that I got through the Choose to Reuse program!

10 thoughts on “Thrifting for Treasure: It’s getting colder outside edition

  1. niftythriftygoodwill

    i love the norwegian sweater! it’s so hot in california right now that i can’t imagine wearing a sweater…but if it ever cools off i really want to find one just like that. i think they look so cute with dark skinny jeans and some boots

    Reply
  2. K

    Thanks for the comment! Being Norwegian, I especially approve of number 1 in this post. An added bonus with that style – there’s nothing that looks cuter in the wintertime imo…
    Between Ashley and Hillary I’d definitely go for Hillary, I just wish she wasn’t wearing flip-flops!

    Reply
  3. Kristin Pierskalla

    Thanks for mentioning the Choose to Reuse coupon book! Hennepin County residents can pick one up at a Hennepin County library, Hennepin County service center, any Three Rivers Park District location, or at a participating retailer. For more information check out the web site at: hennepin.us/choosetoreuse or Facebook page at facebook.com/choosetoreuse

    Reply

Your comments make my day!

